Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Blessing 98 – Hunger Games – waste of good mascara. April 7, 2012

I got my Easter wish and Mum and I went to see the Hunger Games at the cinema today. I saw the trailer when I went to see The Help a couple of months ago and it prompted me to read the books. I thought they were amazing, I loved the first one, the second was clever; but I wasn’t as keen on the third. As with all book adaptations I’m always a bit concerned when I go to see them; but I think they did a really good job.

I cried at points in the book – yes I’m a total girl!- but for some reason had not expected to cry at the film. I knew things didn’t bode well when I was in tears within ten minutes of the beginning. I don’t want to put anyone off, I think it was because I’d read the books and had such strong connections to the characters that it made such an impact. Mum wasn’t upset like I was and she always cries at things. It made me wonder if you actually miss out on things if you haven’t read the book first. I used to think it was a blessing, so that you wouldn’t have preconceived notions about the characters and story; but today I really felt that I could enjoy the film more because I understood the subtlety and the nuances which you just wouldn’t appreciate if you hadn’t read the books. There were so many layers that they didn’t cover, that at times had me muttering inside my head that they were wrong; but I also think you couldn’t appreciate the character’s relationships as well.

I’d be interested to know what someone who hadn’t read the book thought – I can’t ask Mum, she doesn’t like those kinds of films generally, she only came with me because no one else I knew wanted to go! Mum’s are great like that!

 

One Response to “Blessing 98 – Hunger Games – waste of good mascara.”

  1. […] when inspiration strikes. So if you have enjoyed what you you’ve read here, find more of it here… Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this.   Leave a […]


Leave a Reply

