Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Blessing 84 – Born to write March 24, 2012

Today I went on my first ever script writing course and it was amazing! The tutor for the course was amazing, so relaxed and interesting, fun to listen to; but also incredibly inspiring! He made me want to write, to venture into the world of plays and to also go on more courses that he runs. He works at the UEA on their creative writing programme, which is hugely respected and has turned out some amazing (and famous) authors. I’ve thought about doing it one day; but I’m not sure it’s exactly what I’m looking for, maybe a little too large, formal and structured. I liked the fact that there were only five people on the course – there were meant to be sixteen! That would have been far too many, as we were pushed for time as it was. It had a relaxed atmosphere, where people felt able to share.

We learnt about the different types of plays and what they need to bring them to life. We even got to watch some scenes from films, to see how certain elements are used for effect. There was a chance to do some creative writing of our own, creating two characters and then having a choice of either doing a page of a screen play or a Treatment – an overview or summary of a story for a screenplay. I couldn’t believe how inspired I felt. I sat for a couple of minutes each time we were given a new exercise and then suddenly all this creativity came from somewhere and my hand could barely move fast enough to write it all down. I ended up with two new ideas for books/plays that I can’t wait to write more about.

I never really thought about script writing before and only went on this course because I was, and still am, considering doing Script Frenzy, an off-shoot of NaNoWriMo. I always assumed I had to write a novel and then see it become a film; but I love the idea of writing my own screenplay. Sometimes I can see the visual much clearer than I can the prose, so this might be an interesting path to take. I quite like the idea of writing both novels and plays. One of the ideas from today I think I’ll use for Script Frenzy if I can find the energy.

I’ve had one of the best days I’ve ever had, it was so much fun and I realised that not only do I love to write; but I love to be part of the creative process, interacting with others, sharing ideas and discussing things, the way we do in book club. I’m looking to find ways to work with the group again, especially the tutor. Whatever happens I’m going to join some kind of writing group, because I’ve realised that it’s what I love to do and it’s such an important part of who I am. I just can’t believe it’s taken this long for me to realise it.

 

One Response to “Blessing 84 – Born to write”

  1. […] been umming and ahhing about it for a while; but going on the script writing course yesterday has inspired me. I think it’s a little mad, as I’ve got lots to do for […]


Leave a Reply

