Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Blessing 68 – Finding my document again! Problems with Scrivener. March 8, 2012

Filed under: Blessing Blog 2012,NaNoWriMo — Claire @ 11:17 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve started writing again recently and it feels so good to be back in the land of story, escaping into someone else’s world. I got a copy of Bird by Bird from the library and have been reading bits of that too. It’s got a fantastic take on why we write and I’m really enjoying it. I’ve also started working with Scrivener, a writing package I found out about during NaNoWriMo last year. I love the layout and the way you can switch between chapters and even store research; but I have been worried about how safe the programme was and would I lose all my data. I’m so used to using and trusting Word.

Just now the worst happened and I’ve had a mini melt down because I couldn’t find my book file after an automatic Windows update. Major panic, big horror, heart in the mouth, going to cry if it’s lost, hate technology kind of moment. I spent the last twenty minutes searching my files, praying I could find it in some form and ta-dah I’ve just discovered my missing files. I’m so hugely relieved I feel I could cry, this time from relief!

I think I’ve discovered that Scrivener doesn’t like Dropbox so from now on I will be shifting it to another folder; but I feel truly blessed that all my hard work has not been lost. I’m off to do more writing. See you later.

 

2 Responses to “Blessing 68 – Finding my document again! Problems with Scrivener.”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Hi Claire,

    I’m so sorry about your melt-down, but glad the end of the story was a happy one! Scrivener and Dropbox can play nicely together, but there are a few good guidelines to follow to make it a smooth relationship–check out this FAQ on using Scrivener with Dropbox.

    Best wishes for your continued writing!

    Jennifer
    (Scrivener support)

    P.S. I love Bird by Bird too. 🙂

    • Claire Says:

      Thank you Jennifer – I will go and check that out. I think you might have responded to my email too- I really appreciate the very clear explanation, fingers crossed it will all work out.


Leave a Reply

