Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Blessing 47 – Raw Food Revolution February 16, 2012

Filed under: Blessing Blog 2012,Food — Claire @ 11:31 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Everyone seems to be talking about raw foods. I’ve been hearing about it for a while, from a friend and various contacts; but it wasn’t something I was really sure about. How can raw food taste as good as cooked? How can you substitute all the things like butter and flour and still get something like a cake?

This evening my WI had a lady from a local cafe who do raw, vegetarian, vegan and organic food – things that I’d automatically avoid assuming it would all be beans and lentils, tasteless and cardboardy.

I have heard about the benefits of a raw or living diet; but I have to admit to being slightly sceptical, in the past I’ve done lots of exclusion diets to help my ME and none have made any difference, for better or worse. Diet has never affected my ME one way or the other, so I’ve stuck to a fairly balanced one; but know I could be better with more fruit and veg – I struggle to get up to five a day.

I went with an open mind and found the talk really interesting. I particularly liked the sound of making your own almond milk and having it in hot chocolate which sounded yummy! The lady also did a demonstration of a chocolate tart which contained avocado, dates and cocoa powder. The ladies on my table were as reserved as I was about the recipe; but we were all willing guinea pigs. It was actually really good, the filling was rich and creamy and could have been dairy. The fruit and nut crust was a little chewy and I must admit to thinking it would have been better in a nice shortcrust pastry! 😉 Not the point I know; but old habits…

The lady did say that she recommended people take it on gradually and that green smoothies/juices were her main recommendation. That was one of my resolutions this year which has sadly not happened – partly because the juicer was in the garage; but it’s out now, so there’s no more excuses. I’m going to try one this weekend and see how I get on.

It would be lovely if I could find foods that would give me a bit more energy. I don’t think I will ever be able to give up on the treats that I love; but I would happily add in some extra things into my diet. I’m off to Google Green Juice recipes without banana. I’ll let you know how I get on.

 

2 Responses to “Blessing 47 – Raw Food Revolution”

  1. cavepainter Says:

    From what I know raw food is good in some cases, but not all. Cooking reduces the nutritional content of food, but then again it also makes what’s left easier to digest and absorb. So how much nutrition you actually get in the end kind of depends on what the food is an how much it benefits (or not) from being raw.

    Something you may want to look into if you haven’t is that pesto sauce, which is very easy to make and has tons of varieties, is best eaten raw. Of course you still need something to put it on, but if you want to go raw then that’s a lot of flavor right there.

    • Claire Says:

      Thank you! I’ve had pesto in the past; but never made it myself. That’s a great idea and an easy place to start.

      You reminded me that I did hear that about food taking more energy to digest, I forgot with the enthusiasm of the speaker, I appreciate the reminder and it’s definitely worth remembering and watching to see if it does make me feel better or worse. I appreciate the advice. 🙂


Leave a Reply

