Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Blessing 12 – When technology goes my way! January 12, 2012

Technology is wonderful, until it fails! Until you’re sitting in front of your computer, close to tears, pulling your hair out, suppressing a scream and close to throwing it across the room/out the window. I was at that point when my external hard drive failed, losing nearly all my music. I don’t cry easily; but my computer going wrong has made me cry more than most things, which sounds melodramatic; but some of the most important things in my life are on my computer.

I learnt the hard way about backing up my data, when my last hard drive crashed – hence why I got an external hard drive; but when that went wrong I was rather upset. Luckily though I had most of the music on my iPod and I found software which means I can copy from my iPod back onto my computer.The problem was my main hard drive is too full to store the music, which brings me back to one of the main reasons for having the external hard drives in the first place, talk about vicious circle.

Fortunately I do have a second external hard drive; but it was set up in a way that I couldn’t add files to.  After an hour of searching the support site I found out how to uninstall, delete and reformat the drive; but it was completely terrifying. I was worried about messing up my computer and damaging the drive; but I knew I had to do something, so I took a deep breath and went for it. It worked and left me feeling on top of the world! I felt like a conquering hero!

My iPod is now a few hours into the 20 hours it says it will take to transfer my 13,965 songs! You can see why it’s been so important. I can’t wait for it to finish, as it’s reminded me of all the albums I’ve got and I want to go back and listen to them again.

 

2 Responses to “Blessing 12 – When technology goes my way!”

  1. redjim99 Says:

    Machines can, and will if given a chance, ruin your day.
    I dropped one of my portable drives, it is now some attractive coffee mats, I just wanted to see what was inside. But the rest of the machines are afraid!

    🙂

    Jim

    • Claire Says:

      Love it! Scare them into submission! I was wondering what to do with my drive, I can’t wipe it so I didn’t want to give it away; but taking it apart would be fun! Let that be a warning to all the other technological items I own.

      Thanks for the idea. 🙂


Leave a Reply

