Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Blessing 2 – Free Stuff – aka My Word of 2012 – Abundance! January 2, 2012

I’ve heard of quite a few people choosing a word for the year – I did it in 2010 and this was what I chose:-

“After giving it some thought I’ve decided my word for 2010 will be Awakening.
I want the world to awaken to my business Holidays From Home and the idea of virtual holidays. I would also like to awaken my own potential and skills.”

I don’t remember doing it for 2011, last year; but I think if I did then my word would have been Challenge, I faced a few, some of my own choosing, some not so much; but I definitely learnt and grew because of them.

For 2012 I’ve decided my word will be Abundance, well positive abundance. It seems to some up for my huge desire for more of so much :- energy, health, money, social life, friendships, people helped by Holidays From Home, travel, fun, love, opportunities. I just want more, I’m ready for more! Good things that is, just more good things. I know I already have a lot of those things; but I want to grow and expand further, do more, be more. The word abundance covers that.

 

a·bun·dance [uh-buhn-duhns]

noun

1. an extremely plentiful or oversufficient quantity or supply: an abundance of grain.
2. overflowing fullness: abundance of the heart.
3. affluence; wealth: the enjoyment of abundance.

 

Anyway that brings me on to today’s blessing – free stuff! I seem to be attracting a lot of that in the last two days and for me it’s a sign that the abundance is already manifesting, maybe not in the way I expected; but certainly in a way that I’m enjoying! Mum and I did some sales shopping on New Year’s Day – our tradition and we managed to get some great bargains; but we also had Boots points which we used on a perfume selection to share and we found some book tokens! I get a very strange thrill of joy entering a bookshop, wandering round looking at all the books. Unfortunately it’s recently been tempered by a guilt over spending money on books when I can get them for free from the library or cheaper online. Having tokens meant I could shop at my leisure and there was a sale on so the books were cheaper anyway! Joy of joys!

If you saw my choice of books I think you’d assume that they were for a few different people; but no they were just for me. I’m an eclectic reader! I got A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness (teen-fantasy), California Dreamers by Belinda Jones (chick lit) and The Magic of Reality by Richard Dawkins (science). I love the feel of a new book, one that nobody else has read. The way the covers slightly squeaks as you open it and then the peeling sensation as the first blank page turns to reveal the title, before you get to that first glorious page of text – so exciting!

The abundance continued today when I found a £10 token I had for a local craft shop that was due to expire on 16th. I’d had it for six months and had completely forgot about it so I was thrilled to find it! I treated myself to some gorgeous material for my quilt. I’m feeling quite creative at the moment and really want to get down to some crafting again.

We did visit a pine shop and I fell in love with a pine four poster bed! It’s not my normal style; but it was gorgeous. Unfortunately it’s £750! So now I’m putting it out there and hoping the abundance continues and one day I’ll be able to go back and buy it!

So today I feel very blessed by all the free things I’ve received. Free – that’s definitely my favourite price!

 

One Response to “Blessing 2 – Free Stuff – aka My Word of 2012 – Abundance!”

  1. […] wasting my time and should give up, that’s just too spooky. It was free too, another sign of abundance from yesterday! I know you can rationalise it out; but I don’t believe in coincidences, the more they […]


Leave a Reply

