Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

The pressure to celebrate at New Year’s Eve and how I found a way to cope and even have fun, despite being stuck at home December 30, 2011

New Year’s Eve is a really weird time of year for many people. Apart from Christmas and maybe your birthday, there’s no other time when there’s so much forced joviality and the compulsion to go out and have a good time. I think it’s hard when you’re well and can afford to go out to party; but it’s even more difficult if you’re forced to stay at home because of illness or disability, either yours or someone else’s.

The thing is in truth it’s a night like any other; but because of the date it suddenly has this incredible pressure put on it and it places this huge magnifying glass on your life, where you are, what you’ve done for the past year and what may happen in the coming one. It can be hard to be positive and excited when life keeps making things difficult. One option is to just ignore it – a completely valid choice and one that I have done several times, often when I was so ill I didn’t even know what day of the week it was, let alone that it was New Year’s Eve – it’s much easier for things to pass you by when you’re bed bound and can’t watch television or listen to the radio. Less easy when you’re being bombarded with people who are talking about their plans or lack there of, not just in the real world; but in the media too.

I hate that I can’t join in, that I’m stuck at home, not out of choice; but because of my health. I don’t like feeling like I don’t have a choice in my life. Okay so the choices can be small; but I want to feel like I have some control over what I do and I want to celebrate the New Year. It might be an awful year; but for just a few hours I want to pretend/believe/hope that it will be amazing, the best yet and all my problems will just melt away. I think that’s the one good thing about New Year, you can dream a little, hope for the future and we all need some hope.

Normally I sit at home on the sofa, or lie in bed with my Mum and we watch the television to see some of the fireworks at midnight; but I always feel like it’s an anti-climax. I don’t want to watch other people having a great time, I want to be celebrating, having my own party. Which is why it’s so important to me to do something to acknowledge the new year and yet fit the celebrations to my health, ability and needs.

This year I wanted to have my own new year’s eve party at home and I really wanted to give others the same opportunity. Which is why for the past month I’ve been working on doing the virtual party I had a blast putting it all together, writing the virtual party a special Dazzling Diamond theme and even doing a virtual shopping trip. I put together a menu of cocktails and canapes to have and I also wanted to know some of the background, so I researched the customs behind the event, seeing how other people around the world celebrate. It was really interesting and fun to do too. I learnt a lot and on New Year’s Eve I will be wearing yellow pants! You’ll have to join in to see why!

I know it won’t be the same as actually going out; but I know that this year I get to have fun and welcome in the new year with other people who want to have fun too. People who know that life can suck; but won’t let it stop them having fun, any way they can. I can’t wait! If you’re feeling bored and alone and want to join us that would be lovely – find more details here…

 

Leave a Reply

