Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

One of the Best Decisions I've Made – Radio Goo Goo, Radio Ga Ga December 28, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Claire @ 11:55 pm

Radio West Fife

One of the best decisions I ever made was agreeing to do an audio diary for Radio Norfolk about my life with severe ME. It was a big deal, I'd never done anything like that before and I decided that although it was scary I thought it might help other people in a similar situation and would also educate others who might not understand.

The process involved me having a digital recorder for a weekend and I had to record short sections about my life and it limitations. I was nervous and a bit shaky voiced to begin with; but in general really enjoyed the process.

It turned out to be an opportunity which opened many doors for me to help raise awareness of ME and then get publicity for Holidays From Home, including television and newspaper opportunities.

In fact today I co-hosted my first ever radio show! It was a bit of a surprise, I was only meant to be doing an interview about the virtual New Year’s Eve party I'm organising. www.holidaysfromhome.co.uk/newyear

It's for an online radio station called Able Radio www.ableradio.com and when I got on the phone to talk to the presenter; he said would I like to record some audio tracks to use for a show airing on New Year's Eve between 9 – 10 pm GMT. It was a lot of fun to do, although I have no idea what it will all sound like. Who knows maybe it will be another good decision.

That very first decision to do the recording was one of the best I made and I'm so pleased I plucked up the courage to do it.

Powered by Plinky

 

2 Responses to “One of the Best Decisions I've Made – Radio Goo Goo, Radio Ga Ga”

  1. Kaitlin Says:

    That’s really cool – I love the idea of a spoken diary, but the trouble is that I really hate listening to me voice…

    • Claire Says:

      I hate it too! I normally try to sit in another room and just half listen to it, or I get busy doing some sorting. I’, having to get over it though because I’ve started recording some audio for my virtual parties and need to edit it. By the end it doesn’t even sound like my voice, because I’ve listened to it so many times!


Leave a Reply

