Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Life after NaNoWriMo. Analysing other people’s writing styles. December 1, 2011

Filed under: NaNoWriMo,Post a Day 2011 — Claire @ 11:18 pm
Tags: , , , ,

It feels very odd today to not be blogging about NaNo, so I thought I’d do one last post before moving on, or at least not going on and on about it on my blog! It’s been a good day, I’ve felt inspired to get some things done that I’d been putting off during NaNo and it’s been good to catch up; but also very strange to not be writing. I’m not sure whether to jump into writing something else just to keep up my enthusiasm or let it rest and look into ways to improve my skills before working on the next story.

I am finding that I’m reading in a different way – analysing how the book is written which is a little distracting. I’ve put a couple of books I’ve been looking forward to back on the shelf to save for when I’m out of this phase and can lose myself in the story. I was leant Starter For 10 by David Nicholls (One Day author). I hated One Day, so depressing and frustrating; but my friend said this was much better. I wasn’t sure; but I decided to give it a go. I was very excited to see it’s written in Present Perfect, something I’d heard about; but not actively been aware of, if I have read that style before. I’m enjoying seeing how it works; but not sure it’s a style I could/would adopt. It might be fun to do a trial with it sometime.

I think I’m going to Google creative writing classes and see what I can find locally. Not sure I’m quite ready; but it would be good to have some options.

 

2 Responses to “Life after NaNoWriMo. Analysing other people’s writing styles.”

  1. Neeks Says:

    Check with your local librarian, there may be some writers groups near you too. People usually share/critique/help each other there. Google free writing classes too, some universities offer free online content!

    • Claire Says:

      Oh wow, thank you so much. I will definitely do that! I found one course that was £110 so out of my budget for now; but it would be great if there was a free local group. I think I would enjoy just talking to other people and learning from their experiences.


Leave a Reply

