Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Day 20 – NaNoWriMo. Two thirds down, one to go! Looking towards December editing, without much excitement. November 20, 2011

Filed under: NaNoWriMo,Post a Day 2011 — Claire @ 10:20 pm
Tags: , , ,

I can’t believe it’s only day twenty, it feels like I’ve been writing for months now, I can’t really remember life before NaNo. I’m up to 69,704 words and I’m looking forward to seeing if I can maybe get up to 100,000 before the end of the month; but I’m not pushing it, just doing what feels right, which is pretty much writing as often as I’m physically able to.

I received an email from NaNo HQ which said it was important to finish your novel in the month, not just hit 50,000 words, you’re more likely to go back and edit it if you do. I’d left my first story hanging slightly, so I’m going back and writing a proper ending. I wasn’t sure how to do that; but got a few ideas which seems to be pulling it all together. I definitely need to spend more time just imagining the story and going over it a bit more in my head. I’m looking forward to having time in December to do that. November is definitely focused on getting words onto paper; but I’m starting to contemplate the editing/revision process which does make me nervous. Then again I was terrified about the writing part when I started, so I guess it’s just a case of getting down to it and being determined.

Has anyone got tips on editing?

 

One Response to “Day 20 – NaNoWriMo. Two thirds down, one to go! Looking towards December editing, without much excitement.”

  1. Writing Jobs Says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –


Leave a Reply

