Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Day 9 – NaNoWriMo. Writing what you know. November 9, 2011

Filed under: NaNoWriMo,Post a Day 2011 — Claire @ 11:11 am
Tags: , ,

My latest story is centered around someone coping with severe ME, its my chance to use some of my own experiences and maybe work through some of the things that happened when I was at my worst. They do say to write about what you know. There are elements of me, or my life in all my different stories so far and I’m finding it really interesting to see which elements are coming out. Sometimes it’s areas that I hadn’t even really thought about; but suddenly the words are there, spilling onto the page and I’m finding it hard to keep up.

I’ve heard people say that writing can be cathartic and I think it’s really true; but I want to make sure that the characters have more sides than just my own experience, that’s the current challenge, to make them people in their own rights. It’s definitely fun though.

 

Leave a Reply

