Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Day 4 – NaNoWriMo. A story within a story. November 4, 2011

Filed under: Life,NaNoWriMo,Post a Day 2011 — Claire @ 10:36 am
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday I seemed to power through my writing and found that one particular character, Stella, really captured my interest. It’s funny because she was one of the stories that I hadn’t really thought about before I started; but I was suddenly writing a whole story about her. I wanted to get to know Stella better, to find out how she got to the place that she arrives in the story and I found I could have easily got sidetracked just focusing on her. I’m being disciplined though, I’m keeping all that I’ve written so far and then when it comes time to edit I’m going to go back and see what I can separate out, possibly for another book. I can’t believe I’m already thinking about writing something else when I haven’t even finished this one yet!

My word count at the start of today was 11,015  and I’ve already done 700 hundred words. I know it’s a first draft; but I’m pleased I’m not just writing for writings sake, the words I’m putting down are there for a reason, not just to meet my word count. I can’t believe I’m over 20% of the way there though. The hardest part is starting, Facebook, emails, even sorting and cleaning my computer hard drive, oh and blogging, have all distracted me at times; but I’ve got fifteen minutes before I need to go out, so I’d better get down to some more writing.

 

2 Responses to “Day 4 – NaNoWriMo. A story within a story.”

  1. aawwa Says:

    It sounds like it is going really well 🙂

    Lorraine

  2. Claire Says:

    It is, I had a little wobble last night; but kept pushing on and it got easier. I’m leaving a few bots to come back to, so that I can stay in the flow as much as possible.


Leave a Reply

