Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Is home where the heart is or is it something more magical? September 27, 2011

Topic #261: What does “home” mean to you? How would describe what it feels like to feel “at home”? It may be something specific about the physical details of where you’d like to live, or it could be more about how you feel when you are in the right place.

I used to think that home could only ever be a building I’d lived in my whole life. I didn’t think I could be happy anywhere else. House hunting was hard work, so many houses; but none that felt right. The problem was I didn’t know if it was even possible to find somewhere that did feel right, were we looking for the holy grail of houses, when we didn’t want to leave our’s any way. I’m so glad we persevered, because we did find the house that felt right, and it felt right within minutes of walking in.

I think that the feel of a building has a huge part to do with it feeling like home. It’s an undefinable quality, you just know if it’s there or not. As a scientist I find that slightly frustrating and sitting here I’ve just been trying to logic out why this house felt so right, when others didn’t. As we drove near to it I had already dismissed it, in fact Mum had previously driven past and crossed it off our list, we only booked to view it after seeing it in the paper, we didn’t realise which house it was.

The “right” feeling was there almost from the moment we walked through the door, before we even found out it had everything we wanted on our list. How is that possible? It can’t be explained by science, it’s much more magical and intuitive. I’ve clicked with people before, knowing instantly that we’d get on; but I guess the same can be said of houses too. I feel like I was destined to live here and it’s definitely my home, in fact it was within days, if not hours, of moving in.

It helps to create a home by having people and things around you that you love and I think even if you’re in a terrible situation you can find a home; but it’s so much easier if you can walk into a house, filled with other people’s belongings and it feels right, then you’re really home.

 

Leave a Reply

