Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Finding inspiration in an unexpected place August 16, 2011

I’ve been blogging since the beginning of the year and I’ve really enjoyed it. I love the range of topics, especially the ones about deeper subjects that really get you think; but the funny part is this whole time I’ve been looking for ways to produce my virtual holidays in a way that makes them accessible and quick to get out there. I can’t believe I never thought about blogging them before! It seems so simple and obvious now, that I feel a little dim for not coming up with it earlier. I’m not sure I ever would have if it hadn’t been for an article in Marie Claire about the use of blogs – I read it and it was one of those moments where everything falls into place.

So that’s what I’m doing, I’m blogging my new day trips, aiming for one a week and also asking fellow writers and travellers to get involved to create their own trips. I’ve already got a few people working on different places, including San Francisco, Mexico City and Hawaii! I am really excited to get it all under way and to start getting the holidays out to the people who can really benefit from them.

I’ve been thinking a lot about why the virtual holidays are so important to me and I’ve realised that it’s all about freedom. For so much of my life I’ve felt really trapped because of my ME/CFS. I’ve been stuck in a body that won’t do what I want and won;t get better and this has meant I’ve also been physically confined to the house, and for six years just one room. It’s incredibly claustrophobic, especially when my deepest wish is to be able to travel. So for me the holidays represent freedom, the chance to escape, mentally if not physically. I want to be free and help others feel the same. Holidays From Home is the only way that I can do that, so that’s why it’s my passion, my mission in life. I may not be able to physically free you from what ever is imprisoning you; but I’ll do all I can to help your spirit soar.

Check out the virtual trip to London I’ve just done – and the reason why I didn’t let the riots stop me here… http://holidaysfromhome.co.uk/blog/london/virtual-london/

 

2 Responses to “Finding inspiration in an unexpected place”

  1. aawwa Says:

    Hi Claire

    Wishing you well with your venture. I look forward to being transported 🙂

    cheers
    Lorraine


Leave a Reply

