Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Who was the first person who believed in you? August 8, 2011

Topic #213:

Who was the first person who believed in you? How did you discover this was true? Have you played a similar role for anyone in your life?

I think my Mum was the first person who believed in me and gave me the confidence to do what I wanted, to aim for my dreams. The first non-relative who I felt believed in me and inspired me, was an English teacher I had when I was 14, called Mrs Laxton. She was amazing, really kind, smart and interesting. I felt like I thrived in her lessons. My creativity was really sparked. I’ve met people who have encouraged me and have supported me; but that true belief that comes from a person who clearly sees you is rare.

Recently though I’ve been taking part in a business coaching / mentoring group run by Erika Lyremark called The Morning Whip and it has been one of the most amazing things I’ve ever done! Erika has this really unique way of looking at life which, when she breaks it down seems really simple; but is life transforming. I’ve already noticed so many changes in the way I look at things.It’s changing the way I think about Holidays From Home and I’ve already made a dramatic decision, changing the direction of the virtual holidays and Holidays From Home, which you can read about on my blog. I’ve been searching for those answers for over a year; but doing the class crystalised my thinking and inspired the new direction, after just a week – it’s been breath taking and incredibly exciting!

Erika has this amazing belief in her Bombshells which is so encouraging and makes you realise you really can do anything. Plus the other Bombshells are really supportive and want to help each other out, sharing advice and experience. I’ve done mentoring groups before; but I’ve never met so many like-minded people in one place (figuratively since it’s all done via phone/skype). Everybody on the calls really wants each other to succeed and that’s a new experience for me.

I think everybody needs at least one person who truly believes in them. That belief spurs you on and keeps you motivated when things get tough, which they will; but by seeing your abilities reflected back in somebody else’s eyes, makes you see what you are truly capable of and means that you can really achieve your dreams.

 

2 Responses to “Who was the first person who believed in you?”

  1. Claire I love you back big time. Tell Deborah Diamond I said hi too!


Leave a Reply

