Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Can a camera truly capture a moment in time? July 15, 2011

Topic #188: Can a camera truly capture a moment in time when it is unable to capture itself or its user in that moment?

This is something that I’ve thought about in the past because I find that when you’re taking photographs you’re removed from the situation, you not only have to focus on the camera and all you need to do; but you also are viewing the event through the camera and it makes you detached. You’re also not in the picture, so there is always that invisible person behind the camera. Actually that’s a really interesting thought and something I think I’ll consider more when I look at other people’s pictures.

I like taking pictures and would like to do more; but I don’t like the feeling of being disconnected, particularly during special events. However I also like to have physical mementos of events, things that I can look at and jog my memory. I enjoy scrapbooking which is a fantastic way to record memories and use the photographs in a creative way, instead of just putting them in an album.

I would like to be more competent with a camera and so I have booked onto a short course, which I’m really looking forward to. I see beautiful photographs and always think wow, I’d love to be able to take photos like that! Photos which hold emotion as well as  an  event.

My all time favourite photo books are called MILK : Moments of Intimacy, Laughter and Kinship – they’re incredible and worth checking out!

 

Leave a Reply

