Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Write about your earliest memory July 8, 2011

Topic #182:

Write about your earliest memory, or the strongest early memory that comes to mind.

My earliest memory is more about remembering a sensation than anything. I think I must have been about one. I remember standing by a coal-scuttle which was about the same height as I was. We used to have an open fire and the scuttle was in our breakfast room having been filled outside, waiting to be taken into our living room.

I clearly remember the feel of scrunching the small chips of coal between my fingers and palm of my left hand,  in a grabbing motion. The pieces were smooth and I can remember them sliding against my skin.

In fact I used to get in trouble for playing with the messy coal and getting covered in coal dust. My parents tried to cure me of it by letting me go into the coal shed – I came out completely covered in the black soot; but I didn’t care, I still loved it.

That’s the earliest thing I can remember.

 

7 Responses to “Write about your earliest memory”

  1. I was…must’ve been a year as well based on where we lived. But I remember sitting in our garden. I had a little white hat on with eyelets on it. My mom was bending over some plant. I looked up into the sun. And it hurt. I didn’t have words yet, but the thought was ‘Don’t do that again.’ Crazy to meet someone with memories as early as mine!

    • Claire Says:

      Oh wow – that’s it exactly though, remembering the pictures and not any words! It’s interesting that so much can be fporgotten; but yet some things are so vividly clear! Thanks for sharing.

  2. misswhiplash Says:

    The smell of coal ahhh! lovely. I bet you were a messy kid!

  3. Indigo Jo Says:

    My earliest memory is resisting when my Dad insisted on changing my nappy in the morning. I can’t remember if I was wet or not.

    Have you ever read Silas Marner, by George Eliot? We studied that book when I did my GCSE English at school — the title character fostered a girl he found (who turned out to be the daughter of the local squire by a local drug addict) and someone suggested that he beat her when she was naughty, and he said he couldn’t do that, but he did agree to put her in the coal cellar instead. However, the girl decided she liked it there and subsequently went there to play, much to his surprise.

    • Claire Says:

      Oh wow, I read that at school; but had totally forgoten that part and had never made the connection. I do remember really enjoying that book. I’m reading Lorna Doone at the moment for my book club and the language is very similar.


Leave a Reply

