Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Whose responsibility is it to change the world? June 3, 2011

Topic #147:

Whose responsibility is it to change the world?. And what will be your contribution?

It’s a classic Gandhi quote “Be the change you want to see in the world.” It’s classic because it’s true and something I believe wholeheartedly. I think it’s easy to complain about all the things are wrong, not only with your life; but with the world in general and I think that’s a bit of a cop-out. If you’re not happy with something then it’s up to you to do something about it, because if you don’t, the likelihood is that nobody else will.

I think you have to pick your battles and decide which parts you want to change, because I don’t believe you can change the whole world; but with focus and determination you can make a difference.

My choice of contribution is to help break the isolation that people feel, be it through illness, disability or whatever. I want to connect people and find ways to let them experience the world, even if they can’t physically go out to it. I want to help people improve their lives and find happiness, despite the suffering they may be living through. I want to use my own experiences of pain and isolation to make sure other people don’t go through the same thing. At the moment I’m doing it with my virtual holidays through Holidays From Home; but I want to do more and I’m sure that in the future there will be other ways. I know I’m missing out on a lot in life because of my ME; but I also know that I’m using the energy I have to try to make a difference and that makes it easier to live with.

 

2 Responses to “Whose responsibility is it to change the world?”

  1. sanstorm Says:

    I think you are right – even within our limitations we can change things for someone.


Leave a Reply

