Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Write about something you want to do, but know you shouldn’t. May 9, 2011

Topic #121: Write about something you want to do, but know you shouldn’t.

I would like to book a holiday and just escape everything for a month or two, just take off and do some travelling. Sadly there are so many reasons why I shouldn’t, my health, my finances and my responsibilities. It’s so tempting to go away, especially all the adverts for holiday places and hearing people talking about where they are/have booked holidays to.  In some ways it reinforces why I’m working so hard to get Holidays From Home up and running; but I only get why there’s a need for virtual holidays because I feel so trapped, just like the people I want to help.

I won’t book a holiday because I’m too sensible, I pace myself, I listen to my body and the ME, and I don’t spend more than I have; but there are days when I’d love to be reckless. Unfortunately I’ve suffered the consequence of non-reckless acts, I really don’t want to see what would happen if I intentionally did something reckless. I’ll stay being a good girl and keep finding alternative, virtual ways to escape.

 

2 Responses to “Write about something you want to do, but know you shouldn’t.”

  1. Several things you can do:

    Look at a map of where-ever you would like to go, google a place-name and see what comes up. Try that, even for a tiny place and you will often be amazed.

    Have a look at my website and see what place takes your fancy. Drop me an email and I will tell you about it. If I have more pictures of the area, I will send them too. (I may not reply instantly as I am a busy little bee!)

    Choose a subject, Castles, Palaces, Cathedrals, Ruins, Mountains etc etc and google that subject in a country you would like to visit, see what comes up.

    Put on a really calming cd, or search on the www for the sound of water, sound of a fire or the sound of gentle rain etc and relax in a chair or on the bed and imagine you are where you want to be. If I can’t relax, I tell my body to go to sleep slowly from the toes upwards and by the time I get to my shoulders, I feel as if I am floating on a cloud. (No, I’m not a lunatic, just daft!)

    There’s a few ways to escape, don’t “run away” though, I found I couldn’t
    run away as I was always trying to run away from me and if I went, I took me with me!

    • Claire Says:

      Thanks for the suggestions Glynn, they’re similar to some of the things I do for Holidays From Home; but a great reminder that I should take the time to enjoy them for myself and not just put them together for others!

      I love your website, it’s a great idea, especially the help with family tree research, my family tree is all across the country and it would have been great to have someone on location who could help with that. Good luck with all you do.


Leave a Reply

