Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Change the end of any famous story, true or fiction. The Time Travelers Wife. May 3, 2011

Filed under: Life,Post a Day 2011 — Claire @ 11:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

Topic #115: Change the end of any famous story, true or fiction.

I’m a sucker for  a happy ending, in fact I have a reputation in my book club for only liking books that end well. So this is a topic that I’ve thought about in the past. I actually do re-write the ends of books in my head. One of the endings I would change is the end of the Time Traveler’s Wife by  Audrey Niffenegger – I hate it for two reasons, the first being it’s so heart breaking. The first is I guessed what was coming from about half way through the book and then spent the rest of it sobbing. The second thing is I think it’s unbearably cruel leaving Clare with the wait to see Henry again. I’ve debated this with my friends in the book club, who think it’s really romantic; but I think she should have been freed to live her life, not waiting for that one moment.

By the way if you’ve only seen the film, it’s different in the book. The film is marginally less heart breaking.

In my ending, Henry time travels to the future with his daughter and then finds the cure to his genetic abnormality, takes it back to the present and they all live happily ever after!

 

6 Responses to “Change the end of any famous story, true or fiction. The Time Travelers Wife.”

  1. knotrune Says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who re-imagines the end of unsatisfyingly concluded stories 🙂 I have a strong tendency to find endings disappointing. So much so that I can’t let it spoil my enjoyment of reading as otherwise I’d just give up! Now I just enjoy beginnings and middles and if I find an ending I like then it is a fun bonus!

    • Claire Says:

      That’s really true! Sometimes I feel like authors are doing so well and then it just feels like they get to the end of their page limit and just jot a few paragraphs down. Very disappointing! Good job we can re-write things in our heads. Although I feel so much pressure for a book I’m enjoying, especially a series, to be good. I was worried about Harry Potter; but that was perfect!

  2. Selene Says:

    Too, too true! I spent most of this book with a tear, too, and the saddest part for me was the end, with her wait to see him again, which is just what he didn’t want for her *sob*.

    I like your ending better 😀

  3. Kioko Says:

    Yes, it’s a very dark, depressing ending. I felt bad for Claire waiting around for Henry too, but I guess that’s why it’s called The Time Traveler’s Wife. It’s about the choice she made very early on to define herself that way, for good or for bad. Nice potential rewrite though!

    • Claire Says:

      That’s an interesting view, not thought about it in relation to the title. I have a bit of an issue about women just being seen as “the wife”.


Leave a Reply

