Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Day 24 – A song that you want to play at your funeral April 24, 2011

Now there’s a depressing topic for you! I should have read through the topics before choosing because I’d have liked Calling on Angels by Jane Siberry or Angels by Robbie Williams  So another choice … Lots I like, not sure they’re al lyrically suitable. I think I’d have Sarah McLachlan’s Prayer of St. Francis, not for religious reasons, I just love the sentiment and the lyrics fit.

 

5 Responses to “Day 24 – A song that you want to play at your funeral”

  1. Indigo Jo Says:

    Sarah McLachlan did a song called Angel as well – it’s been covered numerous times.

    Funeral songs can be a bit of a minefield, because people sometimes pick totally inappropriate songs. One favourite is Every Breath You Take by the Police, which is actually not a love song but is about stalking, from the stalker’s point of view. A few years ago Wonderwall and Champagne Supernova by Oasis were played at a family funeral, which are songs I can’t stand because of the crass, moronic lyrics but it was the deceased’s favourite band. I just wanted to close my ears somehow, or get out of there.

    • Claire Says:

      I like Angel too, it’s on the same album as Fallen which I first thougt of then listened to all the lyrics. I’m not an Oasis fan either – too droney for me!

  2. Indigo Jo Says:

    Actually it wasn’t at the funeral, but at the crematorium service afterwards. (I think there were normal hymns at the church, and it was a traditional Catholic funeral.) The music that was meant to go out at the funeral didn’t materialise.

  3. The Saints Go Marching In is my choice..with a big brass band…
    I live my life with a bang and I would like to go out that way too.
    Funerals are such sombre places I think that it should be a time of joy. I am not at all worried about dying and going to meet my Maker , I will have waited all my life to do that
    have a great day
    love P


Leave a Reply

