Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

What would your profession be if you didn’t need money? April 8, 2011

Topic #93: What would your profession be if you didn’t need money?

A nice and easy blog post for me today. I would do exactly what I’m doing right now! I love writing virtual holidays and helping people who can’t travel enjoy and experience the world. I get to be creative, write, research, learn about new places, help people and one day hopefully travel too – what more could I ever want. I’d like to get some people to take the admin and sales side off my hands, so I could focus on the actual holidays and getting them to the people who can really benefit from them; but if that’s the price to do all the other bits then I’m happy to accept it for now.

It would be lovely if I didn’t need money and had an infinite pool of funds as there is even more I could do with Holidays From Home. When I was at school I could never work out what profession I wanted to go into, there was never a right fit and I see now that’s because the right profession didn’t exist.  had to create my own and I’m so pleased I did.

 

2 Responses to “What would your profession be if you didn’t need money?”

  1. misswhiplash Says:

    you know what Claire? Just as soon as I get some spare cash I am going to try one of your holidays.

    where would you recommend?

    Love P

    • Claire Says:

      Well it depends if you enjoy city or countryside breaks? You choose a virtual holidays, the way you would choose a “normal” holiday, depending on what you enjoy doing. Unless of course there are things you’d rather see virtually and know you’d never want to do in the “real world”.

      Both the New York and Australia have some city activities like sightseeing, online museums and more historical places. There’s places like MOMA and the Gugenheim in New York, a night at a virtual Broadway theatre, a picnic in Central Park. Australia includes a virtual Sydney Harbour Bridge climb, a sunrise harley davidson tour to see Ayer’s Rock/Uluru and diving off the Great Barrier Reef.

      Then again if you love chocolate you have to try the Chocolate holiday – start in Saint Lucia seeing the cocoa beans being grown, then it’s on to Mexico for the history of chocolate, before finishing in Belgium at a chocolatier’s watching them make the chocolates. Plus you get cocoa beans and lots of samples so you can see how it gets processed into chocolate, and of course there’s lots of chocolate buttons and truffles so you can eat while you read – as you can imagine that was my favurite to research! Lots of taste tests!

      I loved writing and researching all of them and Australia was always my favourite; but then I update New York with things like a dinner cruise and helecopter flight and I think they’re joint favourite now. I love being able to do both online and offline activities with the holidays, cooking the recipes so I could eat the food, watching the films and listening to the music. It just really brings the places to life when you can’t physically get there. I feel like I’m missing out much less by doing the virtual versions.


Leave a Reply

