Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Day 05 – A song that reminds you of someone April 5, 2011

This choice has been hard, as I thought of so many options of songs that reminds me of someone ; but one that sticks out is when a four-year old little boy I knew was busy colouring a picture, when he suddenly started singing:-

“Apple Bottom Jeans
Boots with the fur
The whole club was lookin at her.”
I wasn’t really listening to what he’d been saying and then suddenly I realised what it was he was singing – T-Pain’s Low or Apple Bottom Jeans from Step Up To the Streets 2! I couldn’t believe that this tiny little person knew those lyrics – fortunately he didn’t seem to know all the lyrics as a few minutes later he just repeated the same lines again; but it made me realise how careful you have to be with kids around. They are little sponges and just absorb everything that’s going on. Beware what you say because it will be repeated at the worst possible moment.
Now every time I hear this song I think of him and how stunned I was that day!
 

2 Responses to “Day 05 – A song that reminds you of someone”

  1. Indigo Jo Says:

    Hi there,

    So true about being careful about what you play to kids. A few years ago one of my friends online wrote that her stepdaughter was singing songs she’d heard on the radio and one of them was called “Bust it Baby”, which is apparently a euphemism for oral sex. She was really shocked, particularly as the young girl was singing this but totally oblivious to what it meant.

    Back in the 1990s there was a rap group called Outhere Brothers, who made an album full of very sexually explicit songs (some of the titles are unrepeatable). My sister had one of their singles on a compilation, and I remember she and one of her friends (another girl aged about 16) singing along to it when we were on holiday in Cornwall. Our parents freaked out when they sang along to “girl your booty is so round, let me lick you up and down …”.

    • Claire Says:

      Ok now I feel really young – I used to hear that song when I was younger; but had no idea what it meant! It’a weird isn’t it when you hear stuff when you’re older and realise that things had whole different meanings you didn’t get when you were a child.


Leave a Reply

