Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

I write like ….. April 4, 2011

Filed under: Post a Day 2011 — Claire @ 1:18 am
Tags: , , ,

This is a fun site, where you can post a few paragraphs of your own writing – blog post etc and it analyses who you write like. http://iwl.me/

I did it twice with two different posts and got two different authors. Not sure how they analyse it; but thought it was interesting and I’m going to look into the two authors now.

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

David Foster Wallace (February 21, 1962 – September 12, 2008) was an American author of novels, essays, and short stories, and a professor at Pomona College in Claremont, California. He was widely known for his 1996 novel Infinite Jest,[3][4] which Time included in its All-Time 100 Greatest  Novels list (covering the period 1923–2006).[5]



I write like
Cory Doctorow

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

 

Cory Doctorow (pronounced /ˈkɒri ˈdɒktəroʊ/; born July 17, 1971) is a Canadian blogger, journalist, and science fiction author who serves as co-editor of the blog Boing Boing. He is an activist in favour of liberalising copyright laws and a proponent of the Creative Commons organisation, using some of their licences for his books. Some common themes of his work include digital rights management, file sharing, and post-scarcity economics.

 

6 Responses to “I write like …..”

  1. Indigo Jo Says:

    Funny how it never got the gender right! I’ve seen websites that you can feed text to and it will supposedly guess the gender of the author, but often they get it wrong.

  2. Trevor Says:

    I just tried it, the first time it says I write like Arthur C Clarke and the second time it said David Foster Wallace. Silly but fun little tool 😀

    • Claire Says:

      Well Arthur C Clark is a definite compliment! Do you do any writing other than blogging?

      • Trevor Says:

        I enjoy writing poetry and the odd short story though I don’t think I’m that good at either. I write for myself often adding these scribblings to my blog when I feel they are good enough.
        I love Arthur C Clarks work, so yes I should take it as a compliment, if it came from a real person I just might 😉

      • Claire Says:

        I saw your poem today and really liked it – I think you have talent. I’ve never really writen poetry – I think I got stuck at the rhyming stage in school and never got past it!


Leave a Reply

