Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

If you could see any music act from history, who would you pick? April 1, 2011

Filed under: Post a Day 2011 — Claire @ 11:25 pm
Tags: , , , ,

If you could see any music act from history, who would you pick?.

This is actually really easy for me, at least it would have been a few years ago. I would have dreamed of seeing Take That play together as a five-piece. I’ve loved them since I was 8 and the first started out and I stuck with them when it stopped being “cool”. They were the first concert I ever went to when I was 12; but Robbie had left so it was just the four of them. It was still amazing and was the first step towards becoming addicted to live music – I absolutely love it, there’s nothing better and now I go to all the local gigs I can.

I was one of the many devastated teenagers when they split up, though not one of the suicidal ones, I’m not that crazy – thank God, you’d never have had the joy of seeing them reform; but lets face it who thought that would ever happen!

When they did get back together I held my breath, Pray-ing that they were Back For Good because I knew I would Never Forget how amazing there were, Babe. Could It Be Magic again? It Only Takes a Minute though for it to all fall apart again. (Sorry – fan humor 😉 )

In truth I was worried they wouldn’t live up to their legacy; but I was wrong, they weren’t just as good, they were better. I wasn’t well enough to go to their first tour; but have been lucky enough to go to the next two. Amazing! The dream though was always to see them all together, a site I was never lucky enough to witness first hand.

Then the impossible happened and Robbie came back too, I have a few reservations, the music’s great; but I am concerned about the dynamic. I’ve got my fingers crossed that he’ll make it to the concert, because I have my golden ticket and I can’t wait to use it!

 

9 Responses to “If you could see any music act from history, who would you pick?”

  1. misswhiplash Says:

    Thanks for That Claire…
    I am a sort of fan in that I enjoy the music but I would not travel to see them. It seems to me that since Robbie returned it has been Robbie Williams and Take That. He always seems to be in the forefront of all pictures and is the one making comments on behalf of the others. I wonder now if he got”too big for his boots” as he takes the limelight and the others who have been there all the time , get left out.
    Maybe I am wrong but that is what it looks like to me

  2. misswhiplash Says:

    Thanks for That Claire…
    I am a sort of fan in that I enjoy the music but I would not travel to see them. It seems to me that since Robbie returned it has been Robbie Williams and Take That. He always seems to be in the forefront of all pictures and is the one making comments on behalf of the others. I wonder now if he got”too big for his boots” as he takes the limelight and the others who have been there all the time , get left out.
    Maybe I am wrong but that is what it looks like to me…………

    • Claire Says:

      I think you’re right, he doesn’t do well as part of a group and is not good at sharing the limelight. I feel like Take That are working hard to incorporate him; but in truth do better without; but I still can’t wait to see them all together, just once.

  3. Trevor Says:

    I’m not into much in the way of popular music but I can understand how you feel about artists you like. My dream came true in the early 80’s when Deep Purple reformed, there are others that I would like to see but sadly they are no longer with us, thankfully their music lives on.

  4. Indigo Jo Says:

    I remember reading something about rock in the 1970s, that the boys and girls liked some of the same bands, but the girls all wanted the singer while the boys were watching the guitarist! In the 1990s it was all different, boys only saw Take That if they were taking their sisters to see it. (I got out of that, but my mum got me to buy her Take That & Party for her 12th or 13th, and it was a good job I’d never heard of them when I went to buy it!)

    Mind you, my sort-of best friend at boarding school (which was a boys’ school) liked them and a lot of other “girl music”.

    As for Robbie, he wasn’t heard much when Take That were a group, so his music didn’t sound like Take That and nowadays Take That don’t sound like Take That when he’s singing. I remember when he put out his first single (a cover of George Michael’s Freedom ’90) and he was compared to George Michael – in Wham!, George was the talent among pretty-boy dead weight, while in TT, Robbie was the pretty-boy dead weight.

    • Claire Says:

      I heard George Michael’s Freedom on the radio today and it reminded me of when Robbie covered it. I saw him in concert when he came to Norwich – it was the first date on his tour and I was so close to the stage. The ticket was only £12 such a difference from what you pay now! Still a very special memory.

    • Claire Says:

      Now I’m older I go to see people whose music I enjoy, often having no idea what they look like – I’m a radio listener. If I get bored I like to watch the drummer, always amazing to see!

  5. Indigo Jo Says:

    Yeah … drums are really difficult to play right, I tried once and could never get out anything like right.

    A while back I saw a feature in a drumming magazine about the world’s 100 greatest drummers, and I was really surprised to see Jerry Marotta left out. He is a really renowned session drummer and played with Peter Gabriel, but he was with the Indigo Girls for a long time in the 1990s and his style is really distinctive. Couldn’t see how they could leave him out.


Leave a Reply

