Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Going back to my roots – Tracing my family tree March 4, 2011

Filed under: Life,Post a Day 2011,Uncategorized — Claire @ 11:26 pm
Tags: , , ,

Last year I received an email about ancestry.co.uk and I though it would be fun to trace my family tree back and see how far I could go. I’d done some when I was younger, looking at the microfiche tapes and sitting in a library pouring over a screen. I found it exciting and fascinating, especially finding a name that someone else had missed. I felt like a detective searching for clues, on the hunt to discover the past, my past.

At the time they were just names, I was too young to think of them as people; but now I’m older I start to think about the names, dates and places that I’m finding, wondering who were they? What were their lives like? Do I look like them? Have the same mannerisms or habits? It’s the personal details, the things I can never possibly know that interests me the most. Were they happy? In love? Did they have big dreams and ambitions?

In the past I’ve done a post on time travel; but when I think about it, I’d rather meet the people who helped me to become me, whose actions impacted every person in my family tree, shaping their attitudes and reactions, which in turn have shaped who I am today. If there was a registry of all that information I would love to read it.

 

2 Responses to “Going back to my roots – Tracing my family tree”

  1. Morning Claire.
    What a wonderful thing to do. I did try it once last year but I got no further than putting in my Mothers name and nothing came up for that. I come from a very disjointed family and its gets so complicated that in the end I gave up. I di so admire you for what you are doing and I really hope that you will achieve what you have set out to do. Try to remember to let me know if you do have any success but in the meantime…

    be happy and keep smiling

    • Claire Says:

      Thank you – it’s been fun to do and incredibly absorbing; but I’m starting to get a little frustrated because I can’t find a lot of the evidence I need and I’m back past living memory, so it’s hard to prove it. My Grandma’s maiden name was LeVicount; bu It means the searches are much broader. There#s one t it’s been spelled about three different ways which is confusing! Then there’s one woman whose birth date I have confirmed; but I can’t find any traces of her parents which is a complete dead end. I could possibly get her birth certificat; but I don’t want to have to pay, so I think that may be as far as I get with her.

      I hope you’re having a good weekend.


Leave a Reply

