Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Overcoming Insomnia – With Karl Pilkington! February 23, 2011

Last night my ME/CFS  insomnia kicked in big time and although I was absolutely exhausted I just couldn’t get to sleep. It seems that the more tired I am the harder I find it to fall asleep, which is just another insane side of this illness.

I’d tried everything: relaxation techniques, meditation CDs, even consciously trying not to sleep, because you just can’t force it; but by 3.30 am I was almost in tears of exhaustion and frustration. All I wanted was sleep and it seemed like the furthest thing possible.

I eventually picked up An Idiot Abroad by Karl Pilkington, which I’d bought my Mum after we watched the series together. It was absolutely brilliant! If you haven’t been lucky enough to see the show, it follows Karl being sent by his friends, Ricky Gervaise and Stephen Merchant, to see the wonders of the world. You can see some clips of Idiot Abroad here, it’s a unique take on a travel show…

It’s fair to say that Karl is the complete opposite of me and hates travelling and would much rather stay at home, sticking to his comfort zone; but he takes on the challenge, reluctantly; but you still have to respect him for doing it.

I loved the travel side of the show, it’s no frills and doesn’t have the glossy veneer of most travel programmes which is interesting to see. What truly made the programme was Karl’s very unique take on all that he experienced. Despite being put through some very difficult situations, his acceptance of other people is really sweet and inspiring and his deadpan comments are genius. He’s not trying to be funny; but he’s hilarious.

Just reading his diary brought back so many memories of the show and had me in stitches, tears of laughter which were much more welcome. After 30 pages I put the book down and finally fell asleep with a  smile on my face.

 

Leave a Reply

