Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

It’s ok to think BIG! February 16, 2011

At times I feel like I’m over ambitious, I can’t have small ideas or plans, I can’t be happy with what I have, I’m always striving for more. A lot of the time it means going through challenges which I could have avoided if I’d never had the idea. Like having to learn about converting images to CMYK because I wanted to print some books, or doing a distance learning course so I could put together my first websites, or speaking in front of a room full of doctors and nurses to get them to agree to having the virtual holidays at the hospital. Each new thing has brought about untold stress and anxiety while I learnt how to do something new, something I’d never done before. The sense of risk and the chance of failure.

I always find myself  asking why am I doing this? Why can’t I just be happy with a quiet, easy life? Things could be so much easier.

Then almost as soon as the new problem or stress is solved, I’m thinking about the next thing, planning the next challenge. In my head I can already see what I want to achieve, how I want it to be and I’m starting to work out how to get there. It’s total insanity; but I can’t seem to help myself.

Today though I read this amazing post by Seth Goldin, his blog is always inspiring or thought-provoking and this one was certainly that.

http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2011/02/what-you-missed.html

Make big plans

…that’s the best way to make big things happen.

Write down your plans. Share them with trusted colleagues. Seek out team members and accomplices.

Shun the non-believers. They won’t be easily convinced, but they can be ignored.

Is there any doubt that making big plans increases the chances that something great will happen?

Is there any doubt that we need your art and your contribution?

Why then, are you hesitating to make big plans?

 http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d83451b31569e20133f5d50b61970b

At the moment I’ve got lots of big, almost impossible ideas and I haven’t been able to work out how to make them happen. It’s meant I’ve been finding it hard to hold onto my dreams for Holidays From Home and conviction that I can make them a reality. I’ve talked to lots of people in my search for advice and their doubts have been contagious, they have heightened my own. I’ve felt insecure and wondered if maybe I should scale down the dreams, try to think smaller; but it’s not who I am and this post strengthened my resolve.

I want to “make big things happen” so I’m going to keep thinking big!

 

Leave a Reply

