Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Happy Chinese New Year! February 3, 2011

Filed under: Post a Day 2011,Travel — Claire @ 10:50 am

Happy Chinese New Year! 2011 is the Year of the Rabbit, which is also known by its formal name of Xin Mao. http://www.topmarks.co.uk/chinesenewyear/chinesenewyear.aspx

Apparently this means “A placid year, very much welcomed and needed after the ferocious year of the Tiger. We should go off to some quiet spot to lick our wounds and get some rest after all the battles of the previous year. Good taste and refinement will shine on everything and people will acknowledge that persuasion is better than force. A congenial time in which diplomacy, international relations and politics will be given a front seat again. We will act with discretion and make reasonable concessions without too much difficulty.

A time to watch out that we do not become too indulgent. The influence of the Rabbit tends to spoil those who like too much comfort and thus impair their effectiveness and sense of duty.

Law and order will be lax; rules and regulations will not be rigidly enforced. No one seems very inclined to bother with these unpleasant realities. They are busy enjoying themselves, entertaining others or simply taking it easy. The scene is quiet and calm, even deteriorating to the point of somnolence. We will all have a tendency to put off disagreeable tasks as long as possible

Money can be made without too much labor. Our life style will be languid and leisurely as we allow ourselves the luxuries we have always craved for. A temperate year with unhurried pace. For once, it may seem possible for us to be carefree and happy without too many annoyances.”

http://www.theholidayspot.com/chinese_new_year/more_zodiacs/rabbit.htm

In the Chinese calendar I’m a boar – which I must admit to finding slightly upsetting; but the description is quite good for me.

Boar

This is the sign of honesty, simplicity and great fortitude. Gallant, sturdy and courageous, a person born in this year will apply himself to an allotted task with all his strength and you can rely on him to see it through. Outwardly, he may appear rough-hewn and jovial, but scratch the surface and you will find pure gold.

To celebrate the new year, tonight my family will be cooking some Chinese food, which I love – so this is a great excuse to have some. I can’t wait.

 

4 Responses to “Happy Chinese New Year!”

  1. Indigo Jo Says:

    I had a look at that site and it doesn’t say when the Chinese New Year in your birth year was, so you could actually be a pig (after) or a dog (before). I looked on this site and discovered that I was a dragon, but if I’d been born after the new year that year I would be a snake.

    Not sure why they use the term boar – a boar is a male pig, and there isn’t a year of the boar, only a year of the pig. What is it you find upsetting, the pig-ness or the maleness?

    • Claire Says:

      Some places it’s called a pig and other places it’s a boar. I think it’s more the name I’m not keen on – I’d much rather be something cool like a tiger or a monkey!

      I did the calculator and I’m definitely a pig/boar; but I like it the more I read the different descriptions – they sounds a lot like me.

  2. Kioko Says:

    This is my year! I was born in the year of the rabbit…not sure if that means luck for me. My daughter has been very excited about the Chinese New Year as she’s been studying Chinese in school. Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

