Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

The glass is half full… February 1, 2011

Filed under: Life,Post a Day 2011 — Claire @ 11:42 am
Tags: , ,

Today’s topic is about are you an optimist, a pessimist, or something else? I’m an opptomist, I always try to find a positive solution to a problem and a way that something good can come from something bad. I think it’s the only way to stay sane. I would rather laugh at a bad situation than cry.

Don’t get me wrong, at times this is the hardest thing to do and sometimes pessimism creeps in. It can be easy to feel despairing and want to give up and at times I have been tempted. It can feel easier to do nothing than try to make a change, especially when you’re tired and it feels like one thing after another.

Not to say I’m a little Pollyanna, I like to think of myself more as a realist – my Mum’s the blind optimist, where as I prefer to see the situation and know what’s going on, get all the facts and then deal with it. I can’t bury my head in the sand and hope it goes away.  I have to take action, always move forwards, even if that is only metaphorically speaking.

I know I’ve mentioned it before in posts; but I feel like there’s a part of me that just won’t quit, no matter what – it keeps niggling at me, trying to make me find some kind of solution, something which makes me able to cope with even the darkest, hardest event. I’m truly grateful to that part, because I really don’t know where I’d be without it.

 

Leave a Reply

