Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

Desert Island Discs January 28, 2011

Filed under: Life,ME,Post a Day 2011 — Claire @ 10:39 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I never knew how important music was to me until I was too ill to be able to listen to it. For four years I was so sound sensitive that I couldn’t cope with any noise – music, voices, machines – it was a physical pain in my brain and made me really ill. You wouldn’t realise how many sounds bombard you every day – and I wasn’t even going anywhere, I was just in bed and my house was in a quiet village – it was still a complete nightmare.

The thing I missed most during that time was music – I found it has a way of lifting not just your mood; but your very soul. When I am feeling stressed and wound up music can release it in a way that nothing else can. It’s hard to explain in words how much better it makes me feel.

As I started getting a bit better I could listen to about 10 seconds at a time – my brother would put it on in the opposite end of the house and I could cope with the distant sounds for a short burst before putting my ear plugs back in. It sounds really short; but it was like being able to breathe again after a very long time.

I’m very eclectic in my music tastes – liking a huge variety and happy to admitting to like music which is often considered a “Guilty pleasure”; but I don’t feel at all guilty about it. I like to match the music to my mood Glee if I’m feeling down, Pussy Cat Dolls if I want to get motivated, Take That or Jack Johnson if I’m feeling happy, Damien Rice if I’m feeling thoughtful, to name just a few.
Therefore I’d find it really hard to narrow it down to just one album; but at a push I’d chose a compilation so that I had a range of songs to listen to on my desert island. My favourite would have to be One Tree Hill 2 I originally bought it because I love the TV show; but now it’s the CD I love to put on if I just want to hear some great songs.

1. Feeling A Moment – Feeder
2. The Mixed Tape – Jack’s Mannequin
3. Be Yourself – Audioslave
4. Always Love – Nada Surf
5. Jealous Guy – Gavin DeGraw
6. Son’s Gonna Rise – Citizen Cope
7. Middle Of Nowhere – Hot Hot Heat
8. Missing You – Tyler Hilton
9. Light Years Away – MoZella
10. Please Please Please – Shout Out Louds
11. I’ve Got A Dark Alley And A Bad Idea That Says You Should Shut Your Mouth (Summer Song) – Fall Out Boy
12. 23 – Jimmy Eat World
13. Haley James Scott – Halo
14. Coffee & Cigarettes – Michelle Featherstone
15. For Blue Skies – Strays Don’t Sleep

I love buying TV show compilations because I get to hear music I wouldn’t have otherwise – especially American artists that haven’t released over here. There are some real gems and I like listening to good music, whether it’s considered popular or not. On that note I’m off to put my album on for a chill out!

 

2 Responses to “Desert Island Discs”

  1. Indigo Jo Says:

    What has happened, Claire? I thought it was going to be one a day! I hope you were doing something more important today.

  2. Claire Says:

    No, just resting as my health’s a bit shakey this week. Managed to post before midnight though, so still doing one a day. I’m pleased someone’s paying enough attention to realise when I don’t post though! Thank you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

