Exploring the world through the web

Experiencing life in any way you can.

List three countries you’d like to visit, and why you want to go. January 14, 2011

Three seems a bit restrictive as there’s so many places I would love to go. I have always wanted to travel ever since I was young. We used to take some great family holidays; but always in the UK – I had a longing to see the world – to go to the place I had seen on TV.

I had big plans with my best friend for our gap year and then I got really ill and travel was out. It’s ironic I wanted to travel the world and then suddenly I physically couldn’t get out of bed. My friend did the travelling and I stayed at home; but I found other ways to travel, though books, films and my imagination. It’s not the same; but it is an escape. I had no idea how many other people were in a  similar position which is why I’m working so hard to set up Holidays From Home to make the holidays available for people who can’t travel, because I think that travel can be done on many levels and with an open mind and heart you can “go” anywhere.

That’ doesn’t mean I don’t have a very long list of places I would love to go to when I’m better.

Top of the list is Australia and New York – both places I have done virtual holidays to.  Virtual Australia and New York

Australia was the first place I covered mainly because I used to watch Neighbours and Home & Away and the beaches looked amazing, I thought I’d love to go there. The more I researched though, the more desperate I am to go.  I want to do the Sydney Bridge Climb and watch the sunset over Uluru and snorkel with the fish on the Great Barrier Reef. It would just be incredible – plus I’d be able to add even more detail to the virtual holidays which would be amazing. I rely on talking to others that have visited the places; but there’s nothing like first hand experience.

 

The next place is New York – again a virtual destination, this one I did for a friend’s 21st. She had said she always wanted to go for her 21st; but like me at the time she was bedbound with severe ME and there was just no way so I put together the virtual version for her birthday present – the best I could do to get her there. It was never somewhere I had ever wanted to go until I started to look into it and now it’s one of the coolest places I have ever researched – I am really desperate to get there and feel that it’s more likely than Australia with the shorter flight. I want to go in a  carriage ride round Central Park, stand at the top of the Empire State Building, eat a hot dog, see a Broadway show, stand on the spot in Time Square where Hiro stood in Heroes and see where all my other favourite TV shows and films were set.

Finally I’d love to go to Italy – a place I’ve been fascinated with, ever since studying Latin at school. I’m reading Eat, Pray, Love at the moment and the descriptions of the places and the amazing food (I love to eat) make me want to jump on a place – if only I had the energy (and the money)! I want to wander round Florence, take a gondola in Venice, eat gelato in Rome, eat the best pizza and see the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

Well that’s the top three, the rest of the list is  long and includes safaris, treks round Machu Picchu and the Great Wall of China, seeing Japan in the cherry blossom season, northern lights cruise and many more – at the moment they are dreams; but one day they will be a reality!

 

2 Responses to “List three countries you’d like to visit, and why you want to go.”

  1. Kioko Says:

    Really great choices, Claire! Australia and Italy are on my top ten list, with Italy probably sitting at 5 or 6. New York is a tough one for me. Because my in-laws live there, I’ve been many times. Unfortunately, I’m always locked into family obligations, so I’ve never seen it as true tourist. I have been to a Broadways show and to Times Square, but have never done any of the other things you refer to or experienced any real night life. I need to plan a girls’ getaway!

  2. Claire Says:

    It’s funny that – the places that we’re near to or visit often we never properly experience. We’re only a few hours from London on the train; but until a couple of years ago we hadn’t been much. Mum and I spent a week there doing a lot of the touristy things which was so much fun. Still more to do though – I’d love to go back sometime.

    A girls get away to NY sounds like a great idea!


Leave a Reply

